The OMNI sound system has 50 speakers, driven by 8 amplifiers that produce over 24,000 watts of sound through 6 channels and a giant sub-bass stack to give the audience that “you are there” feeling.
ADVANCING EARLY CHILDHOOD LEARNING
For more than 60 years, the Fort Worth Museum of Science and History’s Museum School program has been the foundation of the Museums work in early childhood learning. Since its founding in 1949, more than 200,000 children have participated in this one-of-a-kind program, which was the first in the United States to be accredited by the National Association of the Education of Young Children.
The primary purpose of Museum School is to give very young children – ages 3 to 6 – a chance to expand their mental horizons by helping them learn from vivid first-hand experiences about the wonderful and fascinating world of science around them. The Museum School curriculum combines natural and physical sciences, history, and anthropology with art, music and literature. The unique feature of Museum School is that young students can learn from science materials and historical artifacts available in the Museum.
Beyond the classroom experience for children, Museum School also provides an important field learning experience for future schoolteachers through an ongoing relationship with Texas Christian University’s College of Education. For more than 13 years, university students studying early childhood education have participated in Museum School classrooms each semester, receiving course credit for their work.
Museum’s School’s tuition-based programs include school-year preschool classes – from September to May – and Saturday and summer sessions for pre-school through sixth grade students.
The Museum School is generously supported by:
The Arch and Stella Rowan Foundation
MUSEUM SCHOOL BACKGROUND
Preschool classes at the Museum of Science and History began in 1949 under the direction of Francis Hicks Townsend and Ann H. Webb, when the Museum was located in a house on Summit Street in Fort Worth. The program was called the “Frisky and Blossom Club” after a pet possum and a pet skunk. In the beginning classes were one hour in length and were limited to 10 children. By 1953, program enrollment had increased to 25 children each, and by 1955 had grown in size to 30 children.
Click on the links to the left for information on the different Museum School Programs available. For questions or to be added to our mailing list, call 817-255-9333.